Thoughts for Today…. Another one SAVED!

Posted: February 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

Well it has finally happened… my blog has actually PREVENTED someone from going to UBH! Got a nice note from a mom who was thinking of sending her teenage son there. She wrote me a nice e-mail and said “Thanks for putting your story out there… I almost made the colossal mistake of entrusting them with my precious son’s welfare.”

She declined to share with me the correspondence between herself and the hospital, and asked me to leave her name off my blog, and I will respect her wishes as any blogger worth his/her salt should do. But, she did say it was okay to share this with you as long as I left her name out of it. Which I will of course do.

I know how my mother felt when she realized I was in that hospital. And, how much worse she felt when she saw what I was like when I left… medicated, defeated, depressed, and terrified of what was lying ahead. Hey, look, if YOU got told you were bipolar for the first time in your life, it’d scare the crap out of you and your loved ones, too.

Now as we all know, the reality is that they didn’t know who I was or why I was there… the discharge papers indicate that (I’m getting those back from my lawyer soon so I can scan in the relevant forms and put on here for you to see) my attending physician didn’t know why I was there. So how could he know I was bipolar? And how does one magically become bipolar over night, and further, how does a doctor make that determination when he’s never seen anyone cycle through the highs and lows of a bipolar episode?

Ugh, I could go on and on reliving this. But I won’t. I just want to say to anyone who ever goes there, or to any other psychiatric hospital–be vigilant about managing your OWN care, and don’t feel that just because they tell you something that it’s true. Question, read, research, and think for yourself.

And, more importantly, make sure that you do the same for any loved ones who go to one of these places. As my saving doctor (the one I saw when released) told me, “Psychiatric hospitals are generally bad places. They are only really good and helpful for two kinds of people: those who are so beaten down and worn out after a trauma that they need to rest for a few days, and, those who are VERY crazy.” (He did not say “very crazy,” that was my term… I want to say it was “Class 4” or something like that to describe someone who is really out of touch with reality and a danger to themselves and others, but I don’t recall the specific words). And he was right, especially about that facility.

Share your thoughts....

