The Dangers of UBH Denton

Posted: May 7, 2011 in After the Dust Settled, Letters and Documentation, Stories from Other People

“Along with regular patients, UBH houses military patients diagnosed with PTSD. Some of them can be extremely violent. And the critically psychotic patients are just around the nurse’s desk.”  

This was part of a comment posted elsewhere on this blog by someone I believe probably works or has worked there, but I already knew this from my personal experience.  The two wings (not sure what they are called, but for lack of a better term I’m going to call “psychotic” and “not psychotic”) are divided only by the nurse’s desk, which any regular person (dangerously psychotic or not) could easily pass through.  I remember being there and through the klonopin fog (they feed everyone klonopin… it keeps you nice and cooperative and too dazed to think or say much) I thought, as I listened to the wails of someone having a psychotic episode of some sort….  “Hey… they are right on the other side of that nurse’s desk….”

One of the witnesses in my lawsuit–a former UBH Denton nurse– was prepared to testify that <PHRASE DELETED>.  After hearing about that, I was relieved that nothing really bad happened to me there.

There were indeed several of our military in there with me.  They viewed UBH as a nice break from dreary old military life… it was like a four week “vacation” for them.  Some of the wonderful members of our armed forces I have since come in contact with viewed it as such a hell-hole that they strive very hard to stay sober and not have to go back.  But, one of my lawsuit witnesses (the same former nurse) was also prepared to testify that there was once a pair of military personnel–a man and a woman–who were having an affair and they both arranged to end up at UBH so they could be together.  The standard treatment was 4 weeks, but, it didn’t take them much effort to convince the doctors to let the tax payers of America pay for two more weeks of inpatient care just so they could be together.

This pisses me off as a taxpayer first, but a close second is the realization that this is the best care we offer our military?  The men and women who risk their lives for my freedom who have PTSD or other problems…. they get to go to this hell hole of a hospital?????  That’s the best we offer them?  How sad.

Comments
  1. Suzan Holten says:

    Thank God I have not witnessed what you described, but my 83 year old mother’s incarceration has caused so much stress on my family that my father was admitted to ICU with pneumonia just 3 days after my mother was committed and it is very serious.
    I am suffering from PTSD now and would not consider seeking help from these people.
    This website could publish names and contacts of Top MHMR directors to complain. You can find them on the main MHMR page, but you have to search quite a bit.

  2. Wisdom4U says:

    Suzan, can you share that information with me at ubhsucks@gmail.com? I will happily publish this information if I can find it.

  3. Daisy says:

    I’ve read several negative posts on UBH Denton, but I have to say I was really surprised with the program. It really helped me a lot with my PTSD and sobriety. The doctors, therapists and staff were all very patient and genuinely seem to care about their job. Many of the other soldiers I was there with agree. Of course there will always be idiots but you get what you put into it. I am very grateful for the opportunity to have been admitted there. I really wish other people could see that side.

    • ubhdenton says:

      Daisy,

      I’m genuinely HAPPY to hear that you had a good experience there. You are the first person to come forward in all the years I have run this site to share one. I would have posted any/all such stories if there were any.

      Congratulations on recovery. –Angry Patient

Share your thoughts....

