My 83 year old mother lost her husband (my father) of 65 years in August 2011, then on December 21, 2011, she fell and shattered her femur prompting surgery to implant a steel rod from her knee to her hip. Shortly following the surgery she was transported to Good Samaritan Denton Village for physical therapy (PT) rehabilitation. Since entering the rehab program she has deteriorated both physically and mentally. We visit her daily and had noticed the decline. On February 2 the nurses began discussing that she was severely depressed and that it was being recommended that she go to the Mayhill Hospital for medication monitoring and adjustment. We were lead to believe that it was a geriatric hospital that specialized in medication adjustment/monitoring and that my mother would continue to get physical therapy……none of this was true.

My mother was done a grave injustice and I do not believe that she should have ever been sent to a psychiatric hospital. She is an elderly woman who lost her husband, her independence and her life as she knew it………who wouldn’t be depressed? She couldn’t hurt herself or anyone else as she is too incapacitated.

She spent a total of eight days in Mayhill Hospital and I cannot begin to tell you the toll that this has taken on my her both mentally and physically as well as my husband and me. Because I was in bed with pneumonia when she was self-admitted, I was unable to see her for five days. On day six at Mayhill I was finally able to go to the hospital and when they were wheeling her toward me, I didn’t even recognize her……I completely lost control of all emotions. She didn’t even look like my mother. In those six days she had lost considerable weight, was physically weakened to the point of shaking and her eyes were gaunt and had no life in them. She did not look like she had had a bath since being admitted as her hair was very oily and dirty, she had crusted food on her mouth, cheek and neck and even under her fingernails were very dirty. I was horrified beyond belief……. She didn’t have her teeth in and when I asked the nurse to get her teeth, she exclaimed “she has teeth?” and I said “yes” she then looked at the other nurse and said “well maybe that’s why she hasn’t been eating”. I told her to go get her teeth and an hour later she returned and said that she couldn’t find them.

They also lost her eyeglasses. Her ankle was wrapped in a bandage and they said she had a sore on the back of her heel from her shoes. Later we learned it was a bed sore. There were adult patients walking up and down the hall cursing and saying vulgarities. It was obvious that mother was frightened and she was too drugged and afraid to asked to be released. She said that she would tell them she wanted to leave, but that they always gave her excuses. I told them that I wanted her released and they gave me a lot of excuses and told me that she was the only one that could ask to be released and that the doctor had to make the final decision. They had her so drugged, she didn’t know how to be persistent in asking to be released. One day she didn’t even know my husband or her own name.

I called three days in a row asking to speak to Dr. Islam, the attending physician, and he was never there and did not return my phone calls until I threatened to contact the media…..at that point, he called back within one hour. He gave me a lot of lip service and untruths and pretty much dismissed my concerns. <SENTENCE DELETED>   She was slowly dying a little each and every day.. At Mayhill Hospital she was in total isolation except for the company of some very mentally unbalanced individuals, we could only visit her for 1 1/2 hour each day at their designated time, we had to meet her in a common area, were not allowed to see her room, she had no TV in her room, she could not have a phone, we could not bring her outside food and her <PHRASE DELETED>.  In her final days on earth, she should not be subjected to such mistreatment, she needed her friends and family around her, not isolation and crazy people. On Monday, February 13, I contacted a lawyer and within 24 hours my Mother was released.

During the seven days <PHRASE DELETED> they lost her upper dentures, prescription glasses and several items of clothing. When we went through the bags that they sent home we found several items of clothing that did not belong to her. My husband returned them to the hospital the day after her discharge and asked that they look for her missing clothes. He had a photo of her the day she was admitted, in their facility, and that entire outfit is missing. They would not agree to look for anything and became very rude because I had refused to go over the inventory list as my mother was being wheeled out the door the day before. I had been in their facility for 20 minutes waiting for them to bring my mother out and then when the paramedics were bringing her out the door, they then wanted to go over the inventory list. I told them I didn’t have time and would return later to sign their paperwork. I needed to be with my Mother. This place is nothing more than a human warehouse that is taking in the cash without regard for the humans involved. I cannot simply walk away and let these people get away with the wrong that they have done to my poor mother and I certainly do not want this to happen to anyone else. For eight days I felt like I was living in the Twilight Zone.

I believe Mayhill Hospital is guilty of dishonest practices and patient negligence. I firmly believe that they have falsely advertised their mission to the local nursing homes in the hopes of getting referals. I do not believe that if the nurses at the skilled nursing centers really knew what went on at Mayhill that they would recommend it to anyone. I believe that Dr. Islam at Mayhill is incompetent and that the sole mission for the people who own Mayhill Hospital, UBH and other entities is to make money and lots of it.

This has been a horrible experience for all of us, but a tragedy for my mother who since her experience at Mayhill Hospital has slipped into very progressed Dementia. Three monthe ago she lived alone, drove her car and read the daily paper. Now she has to rely on someone to take care of all of her personal needs. It is horrible what Mayhill Hospital did to my mother and I want to shout it from the rooftop. I am so glad that I found your webpage and I pray that we are successful in stopping this insanity. I asked Donnal Fielder with the Denton Record Chronicle to investigate and she declined. I have written every State and Federal Agency that I know of but to no avail. Three weeks ago I asked for my mother’s medical records and I have yet to get them and to put icing on the cake, I have to pay $130 in cash before I can get them. No credit cards or checks accepted. Unbelievable.

Comments
  1. Jackie says:

    UBH Denton will be sued by me now. Just got out …. too much to tell what happened on here just yet. I have never been treated so terribly and dehumanized.

Share your thoughts....

