Update

Posted: August 23, 2012 in Fighting Back, Lawsuit

As promised, I am not going to share all the details of the legal proceedings in my blog.  But, because some of you have continued to stay in touch, I will at least keep you abreast of happenings that are public record.

First of all, I love my legal team.  They’re wonderful men who represent me well.  They are true gentlemen and scholars.  If you have a bad impression of lawyers, let me just say you’ve probably never met anyone like these guys (because you’ve probably never been sued for $6 million-ish bucks!)  Let me just say working with a team like this makes a lawsuit a lot more pleasant than it would otherwise be.

Meanwhile, we’ve both filed rounds and rounds of papers and both sides have run up enormous legal bills that will only get bigger, I suspect.  And, that’s without any of us seeing a courtroom yet.   What a great use of resources in an economy like this one!   It’s sickening, really, to see the right to freedom of speech costing this much, but apparently that’s the trend these days.  Big business doesn’t like what you say?  They just SLAP you with a lawsuit.  Most folks cannot afford to defend themselves, so it silences them.  And, it can also bankrupt them, too.

I continue to caution all of you who may have stories to share about an Ascend Health facility to NOT put them in writing to me unless you want to risk being on the receiving end of a lawsuit, too.   I can, however, continue to refer you to an excellent attorney in Texas who will advise you of your rights, if you feel you’ve been mistreated by one of these hospitals.   Just e-mail me at info@ubhdentonsucks.com and send me your phone number or just ask for the lawyer’s name.  She’s one of the good guys, and, I wish I had found her back when all this started.  I suspect I would not be in the mess I’m in now if I had.

Today I treasure my right to freedom of speech a little more than I used to as a result of all this.  I hope you treasure your’s too.  Just remember, sometimes it comes at a very high price.   Until next time….   I’ll shut up!

 

Comments
  1. Michael Schwarz says:

    Thanks for keeping us posted!

Share your thoughts....

