J’s Story: Day 2

Posted: December 22, 2015 in Stories from Other People
Tags: , , ,

Day 2 Today, Saturday I was presented the most information, not in any pattern just by nurses, counselor sand techs. The morning was spent on my drug prescriptions. Mostly nurses would discuss what I was prescribed before UBH and what was in my file. I had several group therapy sessions. Upon completing my sessions I always went to my room to fest and PUT UP MY SUPPLIES. Early afternoon was spent with a nurse that related to me growing up in Chicago in a alcoholic household. She informed me I was lucky to be alive and if I did not stay in treatment I would be dead in two years. The nurse was sincere, but raised my anxiety level to new heights. I became very paranoid about my employer finding out I was here and losing my job. I went to more group sessions this afternoon, finding one session very relaxing. Just as with my other sessions I went to rest and PUT UP MY SUPPLIES. The soldier I met earlier was constantly consoling me, a wonderful human being. My wife visited as much as permitted and asked to speak with my doctor about potentially not showing the football game on the television, fearing it would be a bad trigger for my unstable state. I told her I wasn’t doing well and sh emphasized this to the staff. Still no contact with my doctor. I got to eat in the dining hall today, we moved in groups of 8-10, locked corridor through locked corridor. In the dining hall servers had no sanitary standards, serving with bare hands and slopping the food on treys. Older patients traded food and I gave mine away. On returning to the community room I said good bye to my wife and went to my room. In a few minutes I went to use the community phone but it was tied up and I didn’t get to call my wife. As I tried to sleep there was rowdy activity in the hall. One of the male patients asked me to join a prayer vigil in the hall were a young female was having a seizure. We prayed, sang hymns and watched as she squirmed on the floor. Eventually a tech brought an antiquated ECT machine and shocked the young girl. We all went to our rooms, I began to pray constantly for peace and help. I was praying to God and my spiritual guide, Rev. Charlie Biggurs. I wrote notes in a notebook as I prayed. I had no concept of time. Once the lights were out I concentrated to sleep, no way! There was a girl walking the floors all night, dragging her slippers. If I rested it wasn’t more than 2 hours. Lack of rest, being CONFINED in this hospital and my mental state had me reeling down with no apparent help or concern.

Comments
  1. Roberta says:

    My sister has a horror story from this hospital as well and I reported it to Dallas 8 news and they actually emailed me and asked me for details and we tried to enter a class action lawsuit but never heard back from the attorney in Dallas representing 3 different women who were all “tricked” into entering this hospital.

Share your thoughts....

