I got a text message the other day from someone who asked me if I had given up on my blog, and why no one was posting anything on it anymore.  No, I haven’t given up on my blog.  Yes, I’m still here. Yes I’m still helping people who contact me at info@ubhdentonsucks.com   But, I have been quiet.  And I’ll explain the two reasons for that.

The biggest reason is to give the legal system time to handle all the lawsuits filed against this facility.  Click here to see a list of those.  As of this writing several of the lawsuits are still open and winding their way through the slow and arduous process of discovery, taking depositions, etc.  I’m surprised I haven’t already been subpoenaed for those, but, then again I seriously doubt that the lawyers for the hospital want what I know, saw and heard in the formal record.  In any case, I did not want to post anything on this blog that could have any bearing on the outcomes of those cases.

The other reason is I have slowly and steadily recovered from my ordeal and I’ve tried to put it behind me.  Life has moved on in very pleasant directions, and I find that dwelling on the past isn’t helpful to me.  But, I fought too long and too hard to keep this blog to abandon it.  I still keep an eye on it and I read all the comments that people post.

I still care and want to see justice done, but sadly it’s just not going to be because the parent company of the hospital has more money than God.   Universal Health Services is a Fortune 500 company.  In 2014 they did over $8.5 billion in revenue, grossing about a half a billion in net profit.  So all these legal bills, all the court costs, etc?  Those are nothing but budget dust for them!

If they gave each of the victims with lawsuits pending $1 million, that would represent .8% of their 2014 profits.  Now $4 million sounds like a lot until you put it in dollars that us regular folks can relate to.  Suppose you made $100,000 a year and had to pay out lawsuit verdicts that represented .8% of your income.  That would be a whopping $800.   You really wouldn’t notice that amount after it’s all said and done.

However, the wrongful death cases probably won’t yield $1 million apiece.   The plaintiffs will be lucky to get $500,000 apiece is my best guess.  But, we’ll never know what these suits yield for the grieving families because they will all ultimately settle out of court, allowing all the horrid things that happened to be sealed up in a nondisclosure agreement never to be discussed again.

Where Are They Now?

The mastermind behind UBH cashed in his chips years ago and made a killing.   Yes, Dr. Richard Kresch has started another mega-venture — US HealthVest and he’s opening up more hospitals around the country.   Other than an unpleasant legal bill or two, it seems I didn’t really make much of a difference in his behavior.  Oh well.

A cursory look on LinkedIn shows that there’s lots of new faces on the UBH leadership team.  It is my sincerest wish that they can and will fix the problems that I and others encountered.  Meanwhile the CEO who was running UBH has been hired by none other than US HealthVest.  Go figure!

Can’t find much online about Dr. Atique Khan.  Physician ranking sites continue to show pretty poor patient satisfaction ratings, which doesn’t surprise me.

So, that’s about all the news I have for now.  I’ll of course post when there is more.

Comments
  1. Anna says:

    I’m trying to afford a lawyer to sue UBH for what they have said about me to my family. And on top of it forced me to go somewhere I kept telling them I didn’t need to go. Then they thought they would get my family involved and told them stuff that I had never said and they pretty much broke up a family and had my kids taken from me.

  2. Russell millet says:

    I have recently been a patient in the new ushealthvest hospital in WA state. Terrible patient intimidation threats harassment by my doctors way to much violence i did not feel safe there at all

  3. Heather Dutassy says:

    Denton mayhill mental hospital tried to kill me but i survived but with a stroke, I’ve lost everything i worked hard for and can’t go to commercial diver academy and nobody is helping me no lawyer will take my case all i think about is revenge

Share your thoughts....